Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i admit i'm a noob on MTB hydraulic brakes. But i do like to have a go. So when my MTB's front brakes started playing up, i went ahead and purchased the avid bleed kit instead of taking it to the LBS. However i failed miserably.

I couldn't push / suck any of the fluid through either from the lever or the caliper. I set the reach adjustment to about 75mm, which didn't help. I tried it tight and i tried it loose. I felt that if i pushed the syringe any harder i would of broken it. So i left things be. Both clamps were open, i managed to suck a little out the lever, but now i probably have air, as it sucked it all back in soon as i let go of the syringe.

I'll probably take it to the LBS, unless anyone has any idea's ? I was thinking about taking the cables apart, but thought i best stop before i make more of mess of things than they already are.

·
Registered
9,757 Posts
The lever piston needs to be full retracted to open the transfer port between the reservoir and cylinder. Reach adjustment doesn't affect this. Free stroke adjustment (if present) does so should be adjusted to full out...maximum free stroke. The piston blocking the transfer port is the only thing that can block fluid flow. If the flow is still blocked, it is usually due to debris clogging the system. Pushing reasonably forcefully in one direction or the other may free up the obstruction.

In some Avid/Sram levers, the piston can get tight and stuck preventing it from fully retracting. This usually necessitates replacement. As a stopgap, you can remove the hose from the lever and use a thin blunt instrument to push through the fluid hole and move the piston back allowing you to bleed the brake.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·