Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am a bit of a newbie to this enduro thing but I did the Captain race last year and was hooked! So I have registered for the first couple BME races and am looking for any advice anyone has.
Any information as far as how early to get to the event.. how to practice the course if possible. Where to stay? (the lodging requested on the BME site sounds like a good idea)
Literally the more info I can soak up the better!
Thanks in advance,
Jimmy

·
Registered
374 Posts
Last year it was usually nice to get there wed night or early Thursday. You may not know the entire course layout, but can get a good head start. Lots of people camping either in the parking lots or nearby. Makes for a fun environment and it's nice to have someplace close to take a break, work on your bike, and eat/drink between stages. Worth bringing a spare tire or two, gear cables, various pads, trail and full face helmets. Depending on which races you do, more spare parts are good to have. The resort races will pound your bike more than the others. They are a lot of fun. Just pack like you would for a normal weekend riding trip with a few extras and you'll be good.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Get there early, parts of Valhalla are included across various stages. Valhalla is a jump/flow line and while not having the biggest hits in the state has some rather oddly spaced and lipped hits. You'll want to have a grasp on which ones you need to scrub, soak, or just prep to be boosted.

There are other parts, like the 20 minute stage which you'll also want to preride to understand where/when you can open it and time your pace so as not to blow up 6 minutes into a 20 min stage.

Lastly, we'll probably also hit the DH course, which is not a buffed, manicured, flow line, its a DH course with some nice drops and features you'll want to be familiar with as well.