Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally getting close to finishing my new build. Fork is the last big purchase to make and Im stumped.

So far:
Frame - Canfeild Nimble 9
Wheels - Flow ex laced to Hope Pro2
Cranks - XT
Brakes - XO(eventually something with more power)
Seatpost - KS Supernatural dropper post
Drive train - I'll be going back and forth between SS and saint/xt 1x9
Bars - Answer protaper carbon
Stem - Husselfelt 35mm(heavy but free)
The short list of forks I've been considering are:

RS Revelation
RS Pike
WB Loop
Manitou Minute(formally tower)
Marz 44 TI
Xfusion Trace
Xfusion Revel(because why not )

Any input on any of these, or others to look at? I've ridden both the Loop(but in 120mm 650b form), and Minute(in 120mm 26 form on my fs bike). I have no experience with the RS or Marz. Not a huge fan of FOX. Both 20mm and 15mm axles will work with my hubs.

The RS pike is pretty high on my list, cost might knock it out of contention though.

Stats:

26yo M
190lbs geared up
5'11"
I ride pretty aggressively but don't have a chance to hit many bigger drops. Some of the bigger on the trails I ride are no bigger than 4ft. Ride in Northeast Pennsylvania, so lots of windy singletrack though rolling hills, rocks and roots. Possibly entering a handful of enduro races as well, though no hope of placing unless there is a HT cat.

Any input would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,918 Posts
I wouldn't consider the Marz for what they're going for now. I picked one up when they were being blown out two years ago. Great fork when bought at under $300. Not so much for full retail.

Given your build, I'd go for one of the larger stanchioned forks, so either Pike or Trace. I've got a Trace and couldn't be happier. The Pike gets rave reviews. I don't think you could go wrong with either.

·
Registered
3,966 Posts