Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having a lot of issues with the shock on my "other brand" race bike and I'm thinking about switching to an Anthem. My main concern is the travel. I need a bike with 100mm front and rear due to the type of terrain I ride/race on. I could put a 100mm fork on the Anthem and give up a half inch in the back.

Has anyone done this or researched this and could give feedback? I'm not worried about the head angle, but does it slacken the seat angle too much?

Also, what's the weight of an Anthem frame (aluminum) & shock?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
You can't get a Trance frame....atleast in North America. The 2008 Trance is not much heavier than the Anthem, the 2007 and older Trances are quite a bit heavier than the Anthem.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I've been running a Fox F100rlt on my 06 Anthem 1 for a couple of months now. I like it so much I haven't even considered putting the 80mm stock Manitou back on. I haven't been able to feel any effect on geometry or handling while riding. The only thing I had to do was lower my bars a bit to make up for the difference in height. The extra travel in the fork has given me more confidence on descents and made a big gain for the bike in overall plushness.

·
Registered
797 Posts
You know, its not ONLY about the weight difference...

ducktape said:
You know the Trance isn't that much heavier compared to an anthem, & it's got the 4" you wanted?
For geo with 100mm forks check out the Giant Australia website, the Anthems here come stock with 100mm so the geo charts would reflect that.