Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have about $1000 to spend on a bike. I want to do mostly single tracking, with maybe some easier downhilling (like the green trails up at keystone, beaver creek, etc). I probably would not be interested in drops of more than 1 or 2 feet at most. I'm relatively new to biking... just started in august on a lower end specialized, now i'm looking to upgrade to a better bike. I'm curious what people think would suit me best. Also, i'm 6'6", 230 lbs, so i need a bike with the guts to withstand some weight.

In this price range, i really only have 1 option for a full suspension:
a GT Force 3.0: http://www.gtbicycles.com/usa/eng/Bikes/Mountain/All-Mountain/Details/5912-G10FOR3-Force-3.0

In this price range for a hardtail (i'm a tall guy, so i know i definitely want a 29er if i go the HT route). I have a few options:
The first is a Novara Ponderosa 29er: http://www.rei.com/product/791134 (problem with this bike is the fork, but maybe it would be ok for me?)

Second: Specialized Rockhopper Expert 29er: http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/SBCBkModel.jsp?spid=39225&menuItemId=0 (Not totally sure about this fork, tho i assume it's a step up form the Dart 3). This bike is also a tad too big for me, but not so much it couldn't work.

So, hope i didn't give too many details here! What are you guys' thoughts?

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
I would suggest buying used and going full suspension.Alot of slightly used bikes on ebay/craigslist type.With this economy,let someone else take the hit!Good luck.

·
Registered
373 Posts
Don't get a Novara, REI is a scam in my opinion.
You can get a FSRXC for around $1250.
If you do not want to go the 29er route then you could also look at a Rock hopper SL for$1,100-ish.

·
Registered
298 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·