Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

How tall are the 2008 nomad riders out there and what size frame/stem do you ride?

I'm new to MTBR and I know this topic has been batted around a few times, but I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a new Nomad and I've searched the archives for everything related to sizing to help me decide.

There are no LBSs around that stock SC for test rides, so I've going in blind here.

I'm 5'8" with a 32 inseam. My current ride is an Ibis Mojo, Medium frame (22.8 TT with 90mm stem), which I'm comfortable on. By the math, a large Nomad with a 70mm stem would be about the same reach as my current ride.

SC says I fall smack in the middle of a medium, but a medium with a 70mm stem would be 1" shorter than my current ride. I'm sure I can fuss with the bars and seat so maybe this can be dialed out, but I would like to ride a 70mm stem max on the new ride. To make matters more interesting, the TT and wheelbase on a 2008 specialized Enduro Medium or Trek Remedy is nearly identical to the 2008 Nomad Large. Hmmm.

Thanks!

·
Registered
158 Posts
I'm the same size as you (5'8.3" with 32.5 inseam) and I've also been wondering about the fit on a medium Nomad.

I'll be watching this thread :)

By the way, why are you considering the Nomad over the Ibis Mojo?

·
Registered
299 Posts
I am 5'10 or 5'11 and ride an XL Nomad. I got mine at prolly the only store in the world that has/had all sizes / models to try first. The best advice I ever got (from the store owner) was to go with an XL - said Nomads "run one size too small." A couple of employees at the shop also have Nomads that are one size larger than the manual says. I knew the XL was a perfect fit the second I sat on it. These bike companies / dealerships really tick me off - every is a Santa Cruz dealer but nobody ever has any inventory to even look at, let alone try.

·
KEEP ROLLING
379 Posts