Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys...

I'm a total newbie to the mtn sport but i've been riding every weekend ever since i picked up my 08 piranha two months ago. Skill wise i'm starting to get pretty comfortable in the local black trails jumping logs and going down 1'-1.5' drops and i'm starting to wonder the limitations of my hardtail frame. I've upgraded most of the components on the bike already but obviously theres nothing you could do to the frame itself and i'm seeing more and more people with cracked frames which worries me.

Can this bike handle 2, 3, 4' feet drops? I'm about 5'9" @ 160lbs riding a medium frame with the stock seat post set all the way down. To be honest i don't think i would ever get to point where i would ever go higher than that but I would like to know what my frame limit is. How long is the warranty for GF frames?

Thanks guys,
Alan

·
Registered
2,856 Posts
Alan L. said:
Can this bike handle 2, 3, 4' feet drops? I'm about 5'9" @ 160lbs riding a medium frame with the stock seat post set all the way down. To be honest i don't think i would ever get to point where i would ever go higher than that but I would like to know what my frame limit is. How long is the warranty for GF frames?

Thanks guys,
Alan
Fisher's warranty is a limited lifetime warranty. The limited part comes in when a frame is used or abused beyond it's intended purpose, they reserve the right to deny a warranty claim.

That said, I don't think that the Pirahna is intended for that type of use. IMHO, you'd be better served by something from this part of the Fisher line-up...

http://www.fisherbikes.com/bike/series/biggns

·
Registered
114 Posts