Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
People have posted tons of pictures of the MC Flight 29, but not many of the 07 Unit 2-9. . . not sure why unless people are scared of the purple. Anyway, this is mine. I'm new to the Rigid, SS and 29er thing, but I've been having a blast with it on the frozen trails.

Attachments

·
Samsonite Tester
3,993 Posts
Looks sharp. Enjoy.

sliders , and down tube are different than '06. Is the top tube teardrop shape?

·
Registered
131 Posts
bhc said:
It looks like you have plenty of space in the back for a wider tire from the last pic, how much extra space do you estimate over the Ignitor?
Tons -- please note that he has his sliders in a forward position -- there isn't a tire currently made in the 29er category (that I am aware of) that can fill the rear chainstays on a Unit 2-9 or a Kula 2-9 - if you simply make the necessary adjustment(s) with the sliding dropouts.

Speaking of which I own both and not only are they beautiful - I have a special liking for blue bikes - but Kona's geometry on their 29er bikes is spot on. The bikes do it all and do it exceptionally well -- right down to more than adequate fork clearance -- with snappy to confident handling using anywhere from 75-100mm of travel up front.

Cheers...

Dave

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
bhc said:
It looks like you have plenty of space in the back for a wider tire from the last pic, how much extra space do you estimate over the Ignitor?
Even with the sliders forward I don't believe any tire currently made would rub. The Chainstay design is unique.

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
Nice!!

·
i heart singletrack
1,553 Posts
drbiker said:
Even with the sliders forward I don't believe any tire currently made would rub. The Chainstay design is unique.