Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm pretty much a total noob. Took about 10 years off from biking and now I'm back and I find I know pretty much nuttin'. Upgraded my '95 Rockhopper FS to an '05 XC FSR. I mostly ride the local trials which feature some rocks and lots of roots and I also do some riding in the street - just to get some exercise when I don't have a chance to get on the trail.

I love my XC, but I'd like to lose a little weight (on me and on my rig). In reading the forums, it seems one of the most effective ways to lose some weight on the rig is to get a new wheelset/tires. I plan on doing a UST conversion with new tires so that should help. My current wheelset is stock and consists of a Specialized disc front hub, and a Shimano M-475 disc rear hub with Mavic XM117 rims.

This wheelset was relatively cheap (i.e. - in my price range), but I'm not sure its a true 'upgrade' over my stock set and if it will make any weight/performance improvements:

http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/WH707A21-Shimano+Xt+Disc+X317+Wheelset.aspx

Thoughts on this wheelset? Others around the $200 range? Is a $200 range not enough dough to really be an upgrade over my stock wheelset?

Also - my current rear shock (Fox Float R) doesn't have a lockout. How much does having a lock out make to pedal-bob when riding on the flats and/or streets? Is it worth it to upgrade? I'd like to be able to lock it out while riding in the street, but not sure if 'locking out' would result in a ride more similar to a hardtail.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
6,843 Posts
stipey169 said: