Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone, this is my first post here, but it is, what i hope to be, the end of a long research. i read all the reviews in the link above, most of them favorable and i looked over this entire forum hoping to find something. i have asked at 2 local shops about the front end(lefty) no one seems to think it needs adjustment or knows how to make an adjustment. i not the worlds sharpest rider, but i have a lot of miles on a variety of bikes, some even think im too old (52)

i have been riding this bike on and off for a couple of years and i noticed an alarming pattern emerge. i end up going over the handle bars! sometimes so quickly that i am left standing (slightly bent over and jogging) in front of my bike. the poor bike has really taken a beating.
i have gone back to riding my old manitou equipped diamond back from time to time (once because i ripped out the brake handle of the 800 in a crash and it took about a month to get a new cylinder) and i compare the ride. i hardly ever leave the saddle on the diamond back. and i ride the same trails.
so... 2 things i notice, and perhaps someone here will comment on them.
1.the travel of the lefty seems excessive and soft. when the shock collapses, as it works over terrain, i go forward with the front end so quickly and so far that im over the front in a blink.
2. the front end seems heavier and sticks out further than the diamond back. i measured the distance from the center crank to center front axle, the 800 has about 4 inches more length. this does throw off my timing, when i lift the front end.
i have had some fairly hilarious crashes, some on steep or rocky terrain. but sometimes just a minor dip will toss me. it would be something any one of you would never notice.
i read this entire forum before signing up, i found nothing about this, has anyone heard about this?